support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Involuntary jump to upper register on alto

koumou

Locality
Rhodes-Greece
Hi,

I've been playing mainly tenor for 18 months, but I also have a YAS275 alto for those times the wife can't stand listening to me. I park the can in a remote alley and play.

Lately I've developed a tendency to jump to the upper register on some notes. I cannot work out if its me or my sax. This is getting very annoying as I have no control over it.

Can somebody suggest something please?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Koumou.

I am no expert, but I had this problem for a while after practising embouchure exercises when I played in the upper register without using the octave key. I think they are what are known as overtones, but as I say, I am no expert.

So could it be that you are tightening your embouchure too tight in order to compensate for the smaller mouthpiece ?

Or it could be your sax I guess, although I have no idea what it could be.

Hi Koumou,

it could be that your embouchure is too tight at times. but you will need to rule out that there are no leaks

the most common to cause this is a leak in the octave mecanism i.e either of the pads not closing fully.

first check that your octave mechanism is working correctly and that the pads are opening anclosing when they should

i.e. your body octave pad should open when you play G down to D and your crook octave pad should open A -C#

make sure that when one pad is open the other is fully shut.

You may also want to check that there is a small gap ( a couple of mm or so) between the octave arm ( the bit that sticks up from the top of the sax body where the crook goes in - known as the receiver) and the crook octave arm loop ( the looped bit on the crook key )

Last edited by a moderator:
As far as I can make out, the octave mechs work as they should, i.e. body octave open/ crook octave closed from D2-G2# and body oct.closed and crook oct. open from A2 upwards.