support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Why do we call the notes on the Sax by the wrong name? plus other stuff.

Copstolemywife

Locality
Isle of Skye
This question may have been asked before but rather than trawl through all the possible threads I will just ask. If the sound an Alto Sax makes with what we call the "C" key depressed is actually an Eb why don't we call it Eb? I don't understand the need for Sax's and Trumpets and Clarinets to be in these weird tunings. For example a Tenor sax is only one step off "C" anyway (I think) so why not make it a little shorter or longer to bring it to "C" then all the keys would be correct. I am a complete novice at music theory and many many aspects of music absolutely baffle me. Such as Modes, my son has tried to explain and I've read books on the subject but I just can't grasp it at all. To me, if you are playing the notes of the "F" scale in a different order they are still "F" scale. I guess I'm just thick. And you said there were no stupid questions. :confused:

Many instruments have native keys that they work best in for the size, where the intonation is good and everything 'works' I suppose. I think there is also the factor of the way things 'have always been done' perhaps.

Thevreason we call the notes on the sax what we do is because it follows the flute. And to an extent the oboe, extremely similar fingerings, but i believe mr adolph sax shamelessly copied the flute fingering system. So that players could easily switch and still read the music, they call the same fingering the same note and have the composer write their part in a different key. Easier than asking muicians o learn to transpose (effectively) as they'd have to see a C, and think 'i'm on sax, so play what i think of as an A'.

I think there's a good bit on transposing instruments on Pete's site.