support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner please advise me on major scale practice

georgesax

Dear Experienced saxophonists:

could you advise me on the practice of major scales? I have been learning saxophone for near two years. my daily practice routine is 30 minutes longtime and overtone, 1 hour major scale exercise and 30 minute for my chosen song. So far, I practice only 12 major scales on the whole range of the saxophone and Pete's warmup exercise 1-01 at page 3-5 of Taming the saxophone volume iii intermediate and advanced exercise and patterns. I found this practice routine is extremely effective.

At the moment, I can play any of the major scales or Pete's warmup at 120bpm and also learn to play a new song much quicker.

My goal is to improve my saxophone play skills, and is not to learn jazz theories or improvisation. So, I decide to work through Daily exercises for saxophone by Nilo W. Hovey. there are 16 same exercises for each major scale. I have two questions:

1. should I work on 16 exercises on one scale and then move on to the next scale or should I work on one exercise for all the major scales and then move on to the next exercise?

2. what is the reasonable bmp I should aim for? at the moment, I can play some major scales and Pete's warmup at 240bpm without mistakes, but cannot manage this pace for B, Db, Gb, E and Ab.

thanks for your help!

I would immerse myself in one key working on scales and exercises and then go to the next key that has only one flat or sharp difference---the one ahead of or following in the circle of 5ths. It really should be what you are the most comfortable with. I applaud your discipline and determination to learn to play the saxophone. Don't lose sight of the most important goal which is to learn to play music which is much more than just technical scales and exercises.