support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Hi from freezing Skye.

Copstolemywife

I don't know if I'm doing this right but here goes. My name is Alex and I am 55 years old. I have been playing guitar for quite a few years and been struggling to be honest. I bought a Tin Whistle in 1998 and found that even harder to master. So I left it in the box until I met the current Mrs Hamilton. She played recorder and bought herself a Clarinette. I listened to her playing and thought "how hard can it be"? So out came the tin whistle and within seconds I was playing anything I could think of, by ear. Trouble was there were not enough notes and needs a different whistle for each key. So I had a go on the Clarinette but didn't like it, the fingering was all wrong so I decided the Sax was the way to go. I have long loved the sound of the Sax but never thought I'd be able to play one but the tin whistle encouraged me. So I bought a cheap "Palatino" Alto Sax and was playing it within a couple of minutes. (The basic fingering is the same as the tin whistle). That was a year ago. I later bought a Trevor James "Signature series" Alto. I couldn't afford anything better. Now I have decided that the Tenor is the way to go and decided to sell the Alto to fund the purchase of a Tenor. I still don't know that much about Sax's and which is good and which is bad but after reading several revues I like the look of the "Bauhaus-Walstein" Tenor. It is not too expensive and is about all I can afford. As for the playing, the notes come quite easily while I'm playing but I am really struggling with the breathing and the embouchure. I try to get all the tune out on one breath but obviously this is impossible. So I end up gasping for breath after a few minutes. Also when I've been playing for quite a short time my lips seem to go slack and ache. You must all be on the floor laughing by now:))) I could really do with a teacher but I live in Portree on the Isle of Skye. Although Skye is a VERY musical plac