support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Tone Harder reed, different tone?

FastFred

My second hand STM Link 7* arrived today from evilbay, yippee. My normal set up is Link ToneEdge 7*/EddieDaniels ligature/Vandoren Jazz 2&1/2's YTS62.
This is my first try with a metal mouthpiece; the difference was subtle, not as stuffy in the high registers and generally smoother with a breathier/airy sound.

I played together with a friend today just improvising with aebersold books. She gave me a Vandoren Jazz 3 reed to try which I put in the metal link after she had gone. Besides giving my diaphragm a good workout the tone is now very smooth and even more breathy but honks nicely when I push it. I like the sound but I didn't expect a harder reed of the same type to make the sound so airy. Why does it happen?

My second hand STM Link 7* arrived today from evilbay, yippee. My normal set up is Link ToneEdge 7*/EddieDaniels ligature/Vandoren Jazz 2&1/2's YTS62.
This is my first try with a metal mouthpiece; the difference was subtle, not as stuffy in the high registers and generally smoother with a breathier/airy sound.

I played together with a friend today just improvising with aebersold books. She gave me a Vandoren Jazz 3 reed to try which I put in the metal link after she had gone. Besides giving my diaphragm a good workout the tone is now very smooth and even more breathy but honks nicely when I push it. I like the sound but I didn't expect a harder reed of the same type to make the sound so airy. Why does it happen?

You probably needed a new challenge!!

I belive that if you play with the same setup over a long time you get used to that setup. Comfortable and safe. But you do not achieve any progresse?!? So a new setup or new reed (stronger or softer) can open up your playing.