support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Is it supposed to do that.

What

Locality
Pittsburgh P.A.
Hello all,

Well I received my Tenor Sax just the other day and have been doing the breathing exercises linked to me from this site and the finger exercises suggested on the forums here. Then I opened my beginners guide book and have a new question for you all.

The first few notes that the book suggest are G - C played with the octave key pressed. I noticed that when I press the key where my left ring finger rest down, it forces the octave to close again. Is this supposed to happen or did i get a damaged sax? Sorry for the laymen's description if it makes it harder to understand what I am asking. I am still learning what key is what.

Also one more while I am here. What do you all find is the best placement of the hands when putting the neck onto the saxophone. I am worried that I might bend something while I am sliding it on (trust me thats my luck too).

Bit of an odd book that starts you playing in the upper register.

Your sax is perfectly normal. You will notice, if all is well, that when you put your G finger down, as well as the upper octave key closing, another small key opens a bit further down on the sax. It's usually somewhat hidden by the keywork. This is the lower octave key and operates for the notes G# down to D.

as for the neck question....I stand my sax on the bed, or hang it on the neck strap first, then I hold the neck with my right hand (probably because I'm right handed) with thumb and middle finger on each side, cork inside the palm of the hand, and index finger down the back of the curve of the neck, finger tip on the collar of the tenon. Hold the neck fairly close to the curve, not way out near the cork.
I take a gentle hold of the top of the sax with my left hand, pretty much around all the rods and keywork, but not tight, just to steady it. I offer the neck to the hole in the sax and wiggle the neck gently.