support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Hello.

_Dan_

Hello.
I guess I'm a pre-novice saxophone player (form the UK).

I've previously played noisy guitar as a teenager and had a stab at jazz piano in my 30s.
Now in my mid-40s I've decided that I need a new challenge and, partly inspired by my love of the music of John Coltrane, reckon learning to play the saxophone should be it.

I tried a few altos out recently in a shop (as well as a complete novice can) having read that alto is the usual instrument for beginners. But almost as an afterthought had a try of a tenor just as I was finishing up. Possibly because I'd been 'playing' altos for 20 minutes, it seemed as though the tenor played more easily and sounded better.

So I'm now trying to decide:

a) whether to get an alto or tenor
b) what instrument

Not being able to play makes the choice hard. I'm leaning to the tenor and YTS-280, thinking the Yamaha would be the 'safe' choice. Ideally I'd like something with more character - both in terms of looks and sound - but I suspect getting up to speed on the Yamaha with an upgrade as a reward in a few years if I'm 'worth it' by then is probably the sensible option.

I think I need to just commit to decided by a date in the very near future so that I can stop thinking about it and start playing!

Dan

I tried a few altos out recently in a shop (as well as a complete novice can) having read that alto is the usual instrument for beginners.
If it is it is only because:

1) it's cheaper

and

2) being smaller it is at a more appropriate scale and weight for kids

But given that you aren't a kid, that argument is moot.

....partly inspired by my love of the music of John Coltrane, reckon learning to play the saxophone should be it.

... it seemed as though the tenor played more easily and sounded better.

So I'm now trying to decide:

a) whether to get an alto or tenor...
You've already answered that question all by yourself.

b) what instrument