support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Tone Classical mouthpiece advice

Mack

I have been playing soprano sax as my main instrument for a couple of years, using a Vandoren V5 S35 as my mouthpiece, but I have also recently used a Beechler ebonite 7S, which is a bit more manageable but with the same richness of tone.

But I play exclusively classical music these days, so I have just bought a Vandoren Optimum SL5, on the basis that it would give me greater control over tone and dynamics. What a shock. Any note below G risks overblowing up into the next octave; the tone sounds thin and strained; it is just so difficult to get any expression or richness of tone. I am only a couple of days in, but - help!

Why are these narrow tip mouthpieces so difficult to play? I know practice will improve things, but HOW QUICKLY? Are there specific exercises that will help? I have tried a variety of different strength reeds.

If I was quite happy with my tone on a wider mouthpiece, is there a reason to persevere - what benefits do narrower tips bring with practice?

are you using the same reed brand and strength as on the wider tips?
Oddly, yes - I use Rico Royal 2 medium with the wider tip mouthpieces - I know that the narrower tips can take harder reeds but when I tried a 3 I had to blow so hard, and not much sound came out.

Trouble at the bottom might indicate a softer reed. Come down half a step and maybe try a rico reserve. In fact try lots of reeds. Vandoren mouthpiece, try a vandoren reed?

Check the table on a piece of glass and the rails with feeler guages.

Otherwise it's the selmer S80 for you my lad ;)

Edit. Smaller tip openings sometimes have a shorter lay so maybe the same strength reed as you've been using on a wider tip opening with a longer lay might work.