support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Low g sounds like a high g

Hello all, just an update and a request for advice if that's ok?
Firstly, I am well into my second year with my horn and loving every minute of it. Not studying for exams but my tutor tells me I'm playing at a grade 2-3, whatever that means. So deffo progress being made. Just need to find the time to practice.

I'm plodding along nicely, and at least I can hear where I'm going wrong even if I'm not technically gifted enough to correct them, yet!

It's lovely to be able to pick up my horn with the confidence that I can at least get something credible out of it.

And I am enjoying my new found interest in jazz music.

But I have a niggling frustration, when I play a high G, then remove my thumb off the octave key, the note stays high. My tutor says it's a common problem and he suffered similar when learning on a tenor. He advises me to relax my embrouchure a little but this only works now and again and is very hit and miss. The problem happens both on tongued notes and when sliding from high to low.

Any advise warmly received, thanks in advance.

This is a common issue for saxophone players---especially those who play tenor. First of all it is not a good practice to tighten the embouchure for the high notes and loosen for the low ones. The same embouchure tension should be used throughout the range of the saxophone.