Supporting   special needs music

Embouchure on G5 to C6 using octave key

Andrej

Locality
Singapore
Hi!

I just started playing the tenor, it was my fourth practice today :D. I managed to get notes from low C (C4) to C5 great. I am using cloth as a mute to my bell, so no too much on the intonation, but I managed to control the loudness a bit of the notes as well. But when I get to D5, and I am suppose to use the octave key, in order to get the high notes I must get my embouchure a bit tighter(press a bit more with my low lip) than before. Especially when I get to G5 and up. By doing this I managed to play the C major from low C to C6. When I go up, I must as already said change the embouchure a little bit (tighten up). When I go down, if I keep it tight I can steel play all the way down, but it doesn't feel as comfortable and relaxed as before.

Can you please help me understand if I am doing the right thing or maybe I am doing something wrong, and where is my mistake?

Or maybe it's just my reed too soft (rico royal 1)? I am planning to move to a 1.5 in a few practice sessions, but I am not sure if this is the problem or not.

I am using an ESM piece with 0,084 opening.

Thank You

jbtsax

Café Supporter
Locality
Beautiful Springville, Utah USA
Let me give you a way to communicate better. On the saxophone the lowest C with all the fingers down is called C1 or "low C". The C an octave higher is called C2 or "middle C". The C with the octave key added is called C# or "high C". This is different than the names of the notes on the piano.

If there is any way to get a teacher to help you starting out, that would be the best way to go. Learning from a forum on the internet can help, but it is a poor substitute for face to face instruction. That said, here are a few basics that can help.
  • Generally speaking all of the notes in the regular range of the saxophone take the same embouchure.