support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

YTS 62 vs. YTS 275

pimyo

Hi,

I am a longtime hobby musician, familiar with playing guitars and bass in bar bands (Hi Pete!) I'm retiring from my day job this year and I'm taking the opportunity to learn something useful: THE SAX. After some research on the internet, I see that much of the advice given seems to be a bit marketing led. Can anyone tell me if the extra £1000 investment in a Yamaha YTS62 over the 275 model would be worth the plundering of my humble purse?

rocking regards,

pimyo.

Hi,
I am a longtime hobby musician, familiar with playing guitars and bass in bar bands (Hi Pete!) I'm retiring from my day job this year and I'm taking the opportunity to learn something useful: THE SAX. After some research on the internet, I see that much of the advice given seems to be a bit marketing led. Can anyone tell me if the extra £1000 investment in a Yamaha YTS62 over the 275 model would be worth the plundering of my humble purse?
rocking regards,
pimyo.

If you are a beginner, you better save £1000 for later. 275 is an excellent horn. If you find one second hand you can probably resell it for the same price you paid and upgrade your horn.

62 is a lovely professional horn.

For a similar price to the 275 you can get a Bauhaus Walstein or Buffet Crampon 400 sax which many rate more highly. Unless you are wedded to the Yamaha brand you may find it beneficial to do a little more online research just to check out the online reviews and prices etc. Agree with Aldevis about the YTS 62 and other Yamaha pro horns - just think that Yamaha student models are pricey for what they are - including cornets, trumpets and trombones.

Glad you are wanting to learn the Tenor Sax, and big welcome to the forum!

Hi Tom,