PPT mouthpieces

Why does this harmonic minor run sound good over the "wrong" ii-V?

Kozureokami

Hello all...this is my first post and I am a relative beginner as a player. So please bear with me if the post is either ignorant or just confusing.

In his solo on Horace Silver's Moon Rays, Clifford Jordan plays a descending G harmonic minor scale run in 8th notes, beginning on the fifth degree of the scale as an upbeat. So it's d (upbeat) C Bb A G Gb Eb D C. (I'm not using concert key notes, but notes as played by the tenor). He plays this over an F major chord which sounds like a strange idea I guess but it sounds beautiful moving to the next chord, which modulates to a different key. But my question isn't abut that! Because the run sounds like a ii-V (half-diminished/b9) and it was being played over an F major chord, I kind of assumed it was going to work as a Gmi7/C7 ii-V, but it didn't work all that well. However, it sounded great as an Am7/D7 ii-V, with the ii chord using a b9 (the Bb note) and the V chord also using a b9 (the Eb). I have no idea why this sounds so good and why it doesn't sound as good on the Gmi7/C7. Can anyone out there explain this? Thanks!

Hmmm. . . . With your knowledge of harmony it is hard to believe that you are a relative beginner as a player. Perhaps you play a chording instrument like piano or guitar.

Your question intrigued me to the point that I found the recording of this solo and a transcription as well so I could see and hear what you are referring to. The Youtube video sound quality isn't great, but you can hear what he's talking about at 3:29 in the tenor solo.

To me a ii7 V7 (Am7 D7b9) over the Fmaj7 chord doesn't make harmonic sense because of the chord that follows which is an Abm7. I would guess he is hearing an Am7 based on the Fmaj7 extension to the 9th followed by an