support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Tone Embouchure types

Mack

When I first started playing, I took the usual advice and curved my lower lip over my teeth to provide a cushion for the mouthpiece. I then heard somewhere that jazz players don't do this, but instead just bunch up the lower lip in front of the teeth instead. This allows the lower jaw to move more freely, allowing more variety and expression in tone. I have been playing like that for several years now, and I think it works well. However I now play exclusively classical music, and I find that getting the purity of tone on long notes is very hard on my embouchure, and I still get tired quite quickly, despite a fair amount of long tone practice. I occasionally try going back to the 'lip over the teeth' embouchure, and it is less tiring, but seems to make it harder to play the larger intervals which acquire an alteration of the jaw/mouth cavity.

I don't want to start messing around adapting to a different embouchure if it is not a good idea - Can anyone give advice on developing a good classical embouchure?

I play soprano sax with either a Selmer S80 E or a Vandoren Optimum SL5.

Thanks!

If your embouchure is getting tired it's either under exercised or pushed too hard. The solution to the first is to play/practice more often. The solution to the second is more complicated and may involve changing your set up to one that's easier on your chops. Not playing as loud may help too. Pushing at 100% is tiring and so backing off to 90% may save your embouchure with very little drop in volume.

I occasionally try going back to the 'lip over the teeth' embouchure, and it is less tiring, but seems to make it harder to play the larger intervals which acquire [require?] an alteration of the jaw/mouth cavity. I don't want to start messing around adapting to a different embouchure if it is not a good idea - Can anyone give advice on developing a good classical embouchure?