support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Alto sax consistently flat/out of tune

altoman

Hi,

I noticed recently that my sax sounded off, so I brought up an online tuner and played a scale. I noticed that my sax was consistently out of tune for all the notes in the scale. So if I play E, the tuner shows F#; when I play G, the tuner shows A; etc. I know that alto sax notes need to be transposed to concert pitch when doing this, but even then, it's flat by half a step. I tried moving the mouthpiece up and down the cork and even changed the height of the sax neck but was unable to get it into tune. I did recently bump my sax case hard enough that a key fell off, so I'm wondering if it might have interior damage? There's no visible exterior damage that I can see apart from the key that fell off.

I've been playing for a few months now and practiced for several hours at the beginning with the tuner to make sure that I was playing the correct pitches. I've practiced with the tuner a few times since then and haven't had an issue with playing the wrong pitches until now. Does anyone have an idea of what the issue might be?

Thanks.

--
Sax specs:

Model: Alto sax; Jean Paul AS-400
Reed: Rico reed at strength 3.0

Last edited:
A figered E on alto should give a concert G. If a fingered E gives concert F#/Gb it's a semitone flat, so push in.
A fingered G on alto should give a Bb. If it gives an A it's also a semitone. So push in.
A semitone will equate to a centimeter or perhaps a little more.
A shorter tube gives a higher pitch. Lengthening the neck in the socket will make the tube longer and subsequently flatter.
Locate the neck snuggly in the socket. Push the mouthpiece further onto the neck cork till it plays in tune. You may have to go to the end of the cork or even past the end of the cork. Add a liberal amount of cork grease to make this easier and grease the cork every time before you assemble the horn.

Flat push in. Sharp pull out. Simples