Photo contest

Help on Ear Training

invisiblewasp

Hello, the context is that I am pretty new to the world of the sax and music in general.I'm wondering how folks here improve their ears (relative pitch, chord progression recognition, recognizing sharp/flat, etc). If you could point me to any of your favorite exercises or resources I would appreciate it.So far I have just been using this web app for ear training called ToneScholar (ToneScholar - The Functional Ear Training App) and it seems quite good, but is not specific to sax. In fact it's all voice-based, so probably better for singers.I'd love to be able to improve my ear while improving my skills on the sax simultaneously. I only have so much time to practice ;)Thanks in advance!

Thanks for the link, that one looks interesting. I've been using the Android app Functional Ear Trainer in its interval recognition mode (it's nice that you can configure the scale as movable-do or number degrees). It also has a melodic dictation mode which is an in-app purchase I think.

I also sometimes use a program called Solfege, I think there is a more UI-friendly paid software called Earmaster or something like that, it's been linked in the forum.

Another useful exercise I found here is to take a list of popular songs organized by which interval the first couple of notes start with, and then play it back by ear. Do it in a few keys to get the interval relationship dialed in. I found that list here, Beginner - Ear training - how? You don't need the list of course, but it's a little more efficient when you have limited time when you know what you're shooting for.

Vote:
Upvote 0