All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Yanigasawa T901 Beginnger Instrument for Mel B

MellowD

Lost In Theory
A former client of mine (I was a therapist) decided she would help me out after a long illness by suggesting I loan and learn with her tenor sax. I was mortified when I recognised the brand and therefore value! I'm now in a training band at the grand age of - well I've a few years before I hit anything too dramatic, surrounding by forgiving youngsters! I hope I'll be able to have an invite to upgrade to the Concert Band soon enough though I respect thats down to my own practice commitment too.

Save to say I'm £owning said Tenor and adore it. I'd like to get an alto too, but uncertain what to go for. After the Yani, I feel I'd be unhappy with anything too basic, and yet I also have to consider the £cost in real terms. Any recommendations for me with £500-£700 to spend? What should I look for to avoid perilous mistakes?

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Hi Mel, big welcome from me. Good to hear you've recovered.

You could consider a used sax, but even then I don't think you'll find another yani in that price range. Good thing about getting a matched pair is they play similarly..

The usual recommendation is Bauhaus Walstein, used yamahas have many fans, and I won't spoil the other's fun by making their recommendations for them. And there's an alto on pass-around which is getting very good reviews.

Try before you buy...

old git

Tremendous Bore
Welcome to the caff©, Mel.

Is it fun being a therapist?

ENJOY!™

Last edited by a moderator:

Pyrografix

Senile Member
Hi Mel,

Welcome to this madhouse.

I'm a BW fan and would recommend their alto (as well as the rest of the range!), but there are plenty of others available.

Cheers,

Amanda

TomMapfumo

Hi Mel!