support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Yamaha Music School vs Private Lessons

Andrej

Hi,

I am a beginner at sax, playing alto. I am a 25 year old adult. At first, I had a big passion for saxophone, and I started to read books and watch video lectures on my own to learn to get a sound on my sax. I did learn basic things for few weeks, and understood a lot of theory on playing saxophone. I have a strong music background in playing piano for 6 year music school back in my teenage years. I signed for a Yamaha Music School Junior Saxophone course (they have only this junior program). It is individual lessons for duration of 30 minutes once a week. I am attending this lessons for something more than a month.

The teacher is older guy and probably experienced. But I kind of start to question whether switching to a private classes can be a better option for better progress.

The thing is that for the first few lessons, I just sit down and play tunes that he puts in front of me. However, I don't get any feedback or comments. Just hear a short "good" or "softer" once in a while and that's it, no explanation or comment on how to improve or what to focus on. My question is "Am I that good by myself since he doesn't correct me at all?" or he just doesn't care as long as a sound goes on for a beginner its good. I can't complain about the materials that I am getting, since he gives me tons of things to play. The class is meant for Pop or Rock, and since I like more Jazz, he gave me some basic Jazz exercise as well. I do practice every day and try to organize my practice as good as I can. But, I feel like I except the materials that I am getting, so far I heard no advice or comment whatsoever. I am using things I previously learned by myself or things that I learn on youtube videos.