All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Beginner Yamaha 4c closing off problem

BeBopSop

Hi I am fairly new to the Sop sax, (I have played a few years ago though, and started again)I started with the Yamaha 4c and then got a sopranoplanet MP (which is being modified at the moment) and I didnt have this problem with the sopranoplanet one meanwhile I am using the Yam 4c again with a vandoren 2.1/2 reed which is is quite easy to shut off and what is worse when I am playing I often go up an octave, I have found I can quite easily make this happen if I try. here is the question, Do you think I have outgrown the MP (the sax has been checked over) is this normal to go up an octave because I am biting perhaps? I have tried a 3.1/2 but it sounds very airy and takes more work, but I can close that off as well, the problem gets worse when the neck and Mp gets wet, perhaps the moisture helps close the tip?
Do you think a Yam. 5c or 6c would help while I am waiting for the modification on my other MP please?

Pete Thomas

Commercial Supporter
Hi I am fairly new to the Sop sax, (I have played a few years ago though, and started again)I started with the Yamaha 4c and then got a sopranoplanet MP (which is being modified at the moment) and I didnt have this problem with the sopranoplanet one meanwhile I am using the Yam 4c again with a vandoren 2.1/2 reed which is is quite easy to shut off and what is worse when I am playing I often go up an octave, I have found I can quite easily make this happen if I try. here is the question, Do you think I have outgrown the MP (the sax has been checked over) is this normal to go up an octave because I am biting perhaps? I have tried a 3.1/2 but it sounds very airy and takes more work, but I can close that off as well, the problem gets worse when the neck and Mp gets wet, perhaps the moisture helps close the tip?