All profit supporting   special needs music

Beginner Sax Yamaha 280 or Selmer la void II for adult beginner

F

franniejay

Locality
Perth
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum but have read numerous conversations about what saxophone to buy!

I am 32 and committed to learning the saxophone - it's been a long term goal of mine for about 10 years since I first listened to it and fell in love with the sound. I have no experience so will be starting completely from scratch.

I have a couple of options which are - used Yamaha 280 (2 years old) or a used selmer la voix II ( somewhere between 5-10years old). Both in great condition and they are roughly the same price at my budget of about $1000 give or take. I was wondering if it would be better to buy the intermediate sax (selmer) or would it be more difficult to learn on? I want a saxophone that will last me a decent amount of time (learning wise) so am not too interested with the student horns without the high f key.

If anyone has any thoughts I would greatly appreciate it... I'm open to any other advice or suggestions regarding my first horn too!

Thanks so much!

saxyjt

saxyjt

Saxus Circus Maximus
Café Supporter
Locality
France
I'm not familiar with the Seller USA line of products, but the Yamahas are excellent and praised by many here, including me.

@jbtsax must be able to tell you more as I guess he's seen the Selmer in his shop.

Whatever you choose, enjoy the ride and stay tuned here. Lots of help when you need it.

Take care.
Jax

Phil

Phil

Commercial Supporter
Locality
France
When you say great condition are you also looking at the condition of the pads?

a 10 year old lavox seems quite pricey at 1000

Granted I dont know the Brit market that well but it seems to me that you should be able to get more horn than that for the money.

Am I mistaken or are these prices high folks?

saxyjt

saxyjt

Saxus Circus Maximus
Café Supporter
Locality
France
Looks like @franniejay is from down under Perth.

SaxoFREAK