All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Why do they do it?

jonf

I was sat eating my lunch yesterday, and one of my colleagues was reading the paper, The i, I think. In it was an advert, a full page colour one, promoting the US as a tourist destination. The image used was of a guy sat on some steps playing a tenor. It was shown as a mirror image, so laterally inverted. So someone took a photo, and a berk in an ad agency decided it would look better the other way round. Presumably they thought it would look better. Why? All it says to me is fakery and smoke and mirrors. I wonder if that's the impression they wanted to give?

saxplorer

they don't have a clue, do they? Still, it's nice to know that the sax is still an icon for coolness ..... >:)

old git

Tremendous Bore
Possibly caused by all the various photo processing applications and the digital camera.

Back in the days when I was a reprographer/industrial photographer, yes, young Vickie had just grabbed the throne, we had to be aware of lats, which side of the of the support the image was on and keeping everything as near to the first generation of the image as possible for maximum quality. Now they tell us that there is no deterioration in digital image quality whatever you do.

Bring back Giovanni Antonio Canal.

BigMartin

Doctor Johnson was asked why he'd defined a fetlock as a horse's knee in his Dictionary. His reply:

"Ignorance, madam. Sheer ignorance".

A slightly more subtle one is the number of movies where two people are thouroughly engrossed in a game of chess, and presumably supposed to be good at it. But they've got the board the wrong way round. (Should be a white square at the bottom right). It would drive a real chess player nuts (as if they (we) weren't already...)

altissimo

I've often seen photos of saxes used in adverts to give the product some 'coolness' and the mouthpiece is on upside down..