All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

who to listen to?

breathless

hi all, some of you know I started learning to play tenor Sax just 2-3 months ago and this was after a lifelong ambition to do so.
Ive always like "the sound" of jazz but apart from a few well known names I was certainly NO expert!

now im actually involved as it were! im trying to listen to as many sax players as possible and in the last few months have collected around 15 albums including, Charlie Parker, John Coltrain & his Son Ravvi`s new album, Sonny Rollins, Orenette Colman and a few people ive been to see at the Pizza express and the 606 like Gilad Atzmon and Snake Davis.
however im open to all types of music and recently took a punt on a Album by OCDC which is fabulous.

id like to take in all types of sax orientated music but wondered if I could pull on the forums wealth of knowledge and ask for some suggestions?

as ive just said I like hearing the good ole boys of jazz but really likesome of this new stuff like OCDC so it would be good to get some recommendations.

must apologise, it would appear Ive misspelt the title! (cant see a way to amend it).

Rgds Lee.

Last edited by a moderator:

breathless

Re: who top listen to?

guess I asked for that, Jonf, take a listen to OCDC`s new album, you may be suprised, very upbeat!

Lee.

Andrew Sanders

Northern Commissioner for Caslm

Andy Sheppard, Alan Skidmore, Jan Garbarek, Tubby Hayes, Wayne Shorter, Pete King. These are my personal favourites.
Google Spotify and subscribe. There's tons of stuff on there.

We may never see you again!

Andy

Jules

Formerly known as "nachoman"

john surman, stanley turrentine, ben webster, earl bostic..... some personal faves

Jazzaferri

Speaking of Wayne Shorter I am off to see him live in 4 hours. Definitely one of the greats.

Greg Strange

You could try:-