support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

which saxophone is easiest

zannie

I used to play tenor and alto a lot, I've recently dusted off the tenor and am relearning to play it. I've never played a barry or sop. Is there a view about which are easier? Most beginners I've come across start on the alto. Is there a reason?

I suspect that most people start on alto because altos are generally the cheapest. Also, they are smaller and lighter, which is better for children.

I started playing tenor, and found alto surprisingly difficult. But I expect it would have been the same the other way round.

Personally I think that the bari sax is the most forgiving, but it's heavy and needs quite a lot of air.

I started out on clarinet. So maybe that's the reason that a firm embochoure is not that unfamiliar to me. For me alto appeared to be the easiest. Tenor has the low notes, that need a bit of attention not to overblow an octave. Jumping down across a larger intervall to low e and lower I sometimes still struggle that the note has a clean entry.

Soprano, while considered the most difficult by the community, is not that difficult to me. At least that is what I believe unless I am tone deaf and so far I had no major complaints about my intonation on it.

Alphorn

I suspect that most people start on alto because altos are generally the cheapest. Also, they are smaller and lighter, which is better for children.

I started playing tenor, and found alto surprisingly difficult. But I expect it would have been the same the other way round.

Personally I think that the bari sax is the most forgiving, but it's heavy and needs quite a lot of air.

Yep. Altos are the commonest saxophones on the planet. They're also the cheapest as the OP said. A Yamaha YAS-62 costs less than a YTS-62. Similarly, a 1937 vintage Conn 6M alto has a lower price than a 1937 vintage Conn 10M. Assuming that the makes and models are the same then sopranos, tenors and baris do cost more than altos.