All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

Where do I Go From Here - Which is the Way that's Clear

rob

Hello, first attempt a blogging ever.

Two years ago I lost some of my sight. As a result, I can not read music.

I have been playing sax for 6 years (as a late bloomer - currently 59). As you probably guessed, this is my hobby not a source of income.

I am looking for suggestions on things to practice, things that I can committ to memory.

Currently I have the following pretty well down on the full horn (not counting altismo) and in all 12 keys;
Major Scales
Minor Scales
Major Triads
Major Triads with a flattened 7th
Major blues Scale
Minor blues scale

What should be next? I like rock, blues and am getting into jazz.

Thanks

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
First a big welcome from me. Hope you'll enjoy yourself here.

What software are you using on the computer? Jaws?

You could usefully add chromatic scales to your repertoire. Maybe pentatonics as well.

But it sounds as if you want to be moving into playing tunes. Are you able to pick things out by ear, if not you could get someone to transcribe the music into a text version, which the pc could read back to you.

One thing I'm really enjoying a the moment is Pete's Midnight in the Naked city - There's a cd, and a separate playalong book and backing tracks. Not all the tracks on the CD are covered, but a second backing tracks/playalong book is in the pipeline.

I'm sure the others will be chipping in soon with a lot of useful suggestions.

BigMartin

Agree with everything Kev said, but if you want to play jazz it's also worth learning your 7th chords. Major, minor, dominant (ie major with flat 7 as you mentioned), half-diminished and diminished, in as many inversions and permutaions as you can find time for.

old git

Tremendous Bore
Welcome to the caff©, Rob.

The beauty of the saxophone is that all avenues are open, so you can go anywhere you choose,