All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians

Weekly Progress Diary

TenorVibes

Locality
England, UK.
WeeklyProgressDiary_Banner_715x250.png

Hello and welcome to my weekly progress diary.

I have been practising seriously for 4 months now (2 to 3 hours daily, the neighbours love me ). The first four weeks or so were a bit disorganised. This time was mainly spent on getting my bearings on what to focus on technique wise. What to disregard and what to prioritise. Overtone exercises were started about two months ago. Overtones are miracle workers. My tone has improved massively and indirectly affect other exercises for the better (pitch bending, long notes, higher and lower registers, etc.).

This Weekly Progress Diary is split into 3 parts:-

- This Intro.

- The practice schedule. This will be subject to changes as I progress.

- Progress updates. Will try to provide updates at least once weekly.

Thank you for taking the time to read.

TenorVibes

Locality
England, UK.

THE PRACTICE SCHEDULE ( will regularly review and update as progress is made )​

Tune saxophone to A# / Bb using electronic tuner. Use to do with tuning fork 440Hz concert A. Nightmare trying to hold it and tune sax at same time.

1 Breathing Exercises

1a. Diaphragm Strengthening.

i) Exhale out, until diaphragm fully contracted and lungs empty.​
ii) Hold breadth and diaphragm in position for 10 seconds count.​
iii) Inhale in steps of 10 second counts until diaphragm fully relaxed and lungs full.​
iv) Repeat i) to iii) as many times as required.​

1b. Circular Breathing.

i) Equip myself with a glass of water and straw.​
ii) Before beginning to blow with straw, form a reservoir of air in mouth (partially puffed up cheeks).​
iii) Begin to blow through straw. When low on breadth, attempt to simultaneously empty air out of mouth whilst breathing in via nose to replenish air reserve in mouth. Avoid using air in lungs when replenishing mouth air reservoir.​