All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

Beginner Vibrato/High to low/Softer Playing

BetterJustin

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner and I have been practicing long tones quite a bit and other beginner things. When I play it seems like the notes are strong and solid basically duck sounds or honking sounds. I often hear other beginners where it seems like the notes(sound of the saxophone) comes at the end of notes as softer, more echoed, and not as harsh. I can't figure out if this is just them having more breathe control and slowly the breath down at the beginning/ending of the notes or if it's some other technique.

Any help or insight would be very much appreciated.

John Setchell

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner and I have been practicing long tones quite a bit and other beginner things. When I play it seems like the notes are strong and solid basically duck sounds or honking sounds. I often hear other beginners where it seems like the notes(sound of the saxophone) comes at the end of notes as softer, more echoed, and not as harsh. I can't figure out if this is just them having more breathe control and slowly the breath down at the beginning/ending of the notes or if it's some other technique.

Any help or insight would be very much appreciated.

Hi Justin and welcome!
Like you I’m a mature learner. I’m tenor and you’re sop - Right?
I don’t know how different the sop is to tenor, but I guess quite a bit. I started on alto and frankly didn’t fall in love with it, and my teacher (get a teacher Man!) told me to go hire a tenor. I did and am sticking with it.
Anyway I found the tenor VERY different to alto, so my experience may not be relevant to you, but I’m finding that breath control and sympathetic mouthpiece are pivotal. Enjoy the journey!

mizmar

I'm not sure I understand the problem description.