support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Microphones USB Microphones

I'm no expert but I have been trying to use it for some years with various help from other people and I believe the reverb system is one of the let downs with audacity I believe if you double your recording up ie copy it and play the two together it gives you a fuller sound,worth a try perhaps......John

I've had a couple of go's John, but ended up leaving it as the results were horrid. Up to now my recordings are just the basic mic to computer. I'd love to put in a few effects. LOL

I use the echo in effects. Highlight the track by clicking it. effects, drop down menu select echo. At this point you can set the delay and the decay. It takes a little time to process but quite effective with different settings. 0.1 secs delay and 0.25 decay is a good starting point.

Audacity GVerb settings are quite hard for me to understand, but based on what I have read and what others here at the Caff have told me, the following values can be a good starting point.

Roomsize: 40 m3
Reverb time: 2 sec
Damping: 0.8
Input bandwidth: 0.5
Dry signal level: 0 dB
Early reflection level: -30 dB
Tail level: -30 dB

If you copy your "dry" sax recording before you apply GVerb, then it is easy to go back to it. You can also set the volume of that track to zero to hear just the GVerb'ed sound or vice versa.

Rhys

I've not used Audacity, so apologies in advance if this makes no sense...

I've been wondering if you can install different types of effects in Audacity (something that you can do as a matter of course in the higher end recording programmes). I looked at the feature list for the latest Audacity download (v2.0.3) and it said it could use VST effect plugins. There's a set of free plugins that I used to use for a number of years that are still available, so I installed audacity on my laptop, installed the plugins, and it seems to work fairly nicely. Here's what I did: