All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians

Beginner tuning

jbtsax

Café Supporter
Locality
Beautiful Springville, Utah USA
I like to tune low F# - (A on the tuner), then check F# with the octave key. That gives me a good starting point to play the other notes in tune by listening and adjusting.

Iorwerth.jones1888

I like to tune low F# - (A on the tuner), then check F# with the octave key. That gives me a good starting point to play the other notes in tune by listening and adjusting.

Does this mean I need to set the transpostion on the tuner to A? Maybe a silly question but I'm a total beginner.

Thanks..

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Café Supporter
Locality
Just north of Munich
Does this mean I need to set the transpostion on the tuner to A? Maybe a silly question but I'm a total beginner.

Thanks..

No, set the transposition on the tuner to the pitch of the sax, Eb for alto, Bb for tenor. The tuner then shows the sax note, not concert note - so in JBT's example, the tuner will show F# instead of A.

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Café Supporter
Locality
Just north of Munich
Maybe a silly question but I'm a total beginner.

Thanks..

Don't worry about questions like this, they're not silly, more us for not being clear. You won't get shot down for it here, we try to be a helpful bunch.

Tenor Viol

Full of frets in North Shropshire
Café Supporter
Locality
Whitchurch, North Shropshire UK
Don't worry about questions like this, they're not silly, more us for not being clear. You won't get shot down for it here, we try to be a helpful bunch.
Agree with Kev - there are no silly questions. We were all beginners once and as a beginner there is loads of stuff that at this stage you won't even know that you don't know! Let alone the stuff that you know you don't know!!

Ivan

Undecided
Café Supporter
Locality
Peeblesshire