• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
sax.co.uk

Other to buy or not to buy.....

The Blaw

My friend is offering to sell me her Bauhaus Walstein alto. Neither of us knows anything about them (she had it as a gift) It is silver and gold if that helps work out what model it is. Does anyone know anything about them, in particular what it might be worth. (Ballpark) I want to establish a fair price for both of us obviously. It seems in good condition and is definitely playable. I'm not looking for anything amazing, I'm just a beginner looking for a reasonable horn and I'm scared of buying blind on eBay.

PaulWhite

Woodwind Wannabe
Subscriber
I don't know anything about them but it may help if you could find a serial number on it - the magic of Google will then help you identify the model and you might then find a market value.

The Blaw

Thank you all for the links. I had seen them but didn't know if M2 series was the only thing it could be. The new price would be beyond my budget and I don't know how old it is or if it needs a service etc. Do any if you know how new price compares with second/third hand prices? Is there some rule of thumb? From what you say it looks as if I should try to buy it so price is the only issue.

nigeld

festina andante
Subscriber
The saxophone should have a model name on it - worth checking that it is an M2 series before you pay.
Or you could post a photo.

Stephen Howard

Pricing is always tricky - a lot depends on how old the horn is, but the smart buyer is more interested in how much (or little) use it's had. A hardly-used horn that's ten years old will be a better bet than a two year old horn that's been used almost daily.