All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Beginner This question is for you Pete Thomas (with due respect)

anifalas

My name is Lowo and I play with the 4seasonsband, if you check the "Atepa" video on youtube, I am the black man on the alto saxophone. I have been playing saxophones for about 12 years now but on your tutorial video showing the daily warm up exercises, in the intermediate one where you added a little embellishment. What did you do & how? You didn't mention, it's kind of up to the audience to go work it out. I think that detail ought to be added or at least explained for clarity's sake. I can think of quite a number of things to do to produce that sort of sound, I think this will save the beginners some time in trying to work it out. Thanks

Pete Thomas

Chief of Stuff
Commercial Supporter
I'm not sure what you mean by embellishment. Can you tell me at what point in the video you hear the embellishment?

anifalas

Good day Pete and thank you for the swift reply. I bought a copy of your DVD titled "the saxophone" about 9 years ago and the fact that it had mentioned the effect called "the fall" was a very good thing for me, it took my playing to another level especially as it forced with to go and re-familiarise myself with the chromatic scale plus it answered the question of "the fall" for me once and for all. The actual clip I am referring to is titled "Focussed practice part 1". You were using the daily warmup exercise to show possible ways of making practising less boring by using embellishments. On 0:58, 1:00 & 1:03. I think you ought have explained your actual action there. Thanks

Chris98

I think Pete is just playing the notes around the top note in quick succession before coming down again, would this be a 'turn'?