The Rinkster is in the house

The Rinkster

Hi everyone!

I'm John and im a sax player! :welldone

Suppose a lil about myself, I play alto and soprano.
I've been playing for about 12 years and have taught myself, never had a tutor. Joined an adult education class after 6 months playing, (during which time i had figured out the basic fingering and reading the dots from a book and learnt to play some simple tunes from the 100 flute song book). This class turned out to be an amature band with sax and clarinet. OMG i was put straight onto lead alto after playing The Entertainer from memory. Was this because i was good or was it the level of the band? lol!
Got a bit disheartened after about 5/6 years of this because i'm not brilliant at sight reading and thought sax was about improv but i had no idea how to. Put my sax away for a at least 18mnths as a result. The desire to play was strong though and i rejoined the band and stayed for about another year.
Then about 3 years ago i got my hands on a book by James Ray about improv, with a backing CD. Didnt understand it but noticed a footnote saying Am blues scale can be used over the changes! Welcome to the world of improv!
Since then i have been experimenting with blues scales and was introduced to a 12 bar blues on concert pitch Em, Am and Bm by a guitar friend of mine called The Judge. He has since sadly passed away but i will always credit him for opening my eyes and ears and hearing something special in me. Figured out that there are notes that are the same in each scale and some that are a semitone away.
Welcome to improve around chords!