Saxophones that inevitable bari-itch...1

Kumimajava

hi guys,

so it seems that almost in every sax player's life there comes a time when the itch to try a baritone becomes quite intolerable. this is not to say that i've perfected the tenor (or, indeed, gained respectable proficiency in it), but still i'd like to try playing the bari occasionally. the problem seems to be that at least in the UK, there's not that many affordable bari's around - most of the 'good vintage deals' are based in the US.

So it seems that at the 'budget' end, there's two main choices - either the Gear4Music bari around 900, or the BW around 1500.

Would any of you guys have tried both - and if so, could you please share your experience. I've heard a lot of good things about the BW (and i have some hands-on experience of their soprano & alto), but not much about the G4M, especially as to how they compare... is the BW worth the extra cash?

thanks in advance,
Daniel

Morgan Fry

I've only seen one gear4music sax, it happened to be a bass. It was the worst made saxpophone-shaped object I have ever seen. Barely played, thumbrests were in the wrong places, ergonomics was impossible (not just bad, you couldn't reach some keys). In perfect condition, it still didn't play -- it has serious acoustical problems with the body taper and tonehole layout, and I am very sceptical whether any gear4music gear plays at all.

Don't know anything about the BW, I'm afraid, but if it plays at all it's worth the extra £££. The other one is just giving money away.

dooce

John Packer have had a mention in another thread, but my teacher bought a basic own-brand JP baritone and is chuffed to bits with it. I think they sell for about a grand.

c9off

I too have that itch, and a workshop I could play in... Interesting to note Dooce's teacher rates his.. and the next JP model up also has been recommended..

The question is cheap model new, or second hand?? (within modest budget..)

anything else in the mix?