All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Thank you to Saxyman

Pauline

Subscriber
Starting a new thread because I don't want to hijack someone elses.

Dave, (Saxyman) I owe you a big "thank you" for posting a review of the sax course at Knuston hall a year or two ago! :welldone
Because of that review, I plucked up the courage to go on the course last April where I met (besides yourself and QWales) two lovely ladies, Rosemary and Glyn form York who encouraged me to join a community band in York.

Well, I've been playing in the band for six months now and absolutely love it! I have learned loads and had so much fun playing in two concerts. I now have a purpose to my playing and it is all because I was inspired to go to Knuston by your review!

I think the best piece of advice I could give to new players is to find such a band as soon as possible. The experience is invaluable. Don't be put off by inexperience. There are bands that take people who are complete beginners. The idea is to learn from others in the old brass band tradition.
If you get the chance, try it!

Thanks again Dave, and see you in April!

trimmy

One day i will...
I fully understand how you feel OM (official moll) as i did the same during the summer after Tony (Rico vandoren) introduced me to MWO http://www.maghullwindorchestra.co.uk/index.html and i feel it has helped me along with my sight reading, timing, amongst other stuff. The biggest buzz is performing with the orchestra :D (mistakes and all) but as Pauline says if you do get the chance take it :thumb: with both hands.

ps. check out the gallery at MWO i'm on pic 3 & 16 :D in drag !!

pps. check out pic 14, Ms Vandoren ;}

Last edited by a moderator:

Di in France

That's great - I wish I could find a group around here - not likely as we're in the middle of nowhere in France.

Pete Thomas

Chief of Stuff
Commercial Supporter