support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Switching between Alto and Bari tips

Mangosaxy

Locality
Usa
Hello!

I've been playing alto sax for almost 6 years now and I've recently switched to play baritone sax in my highschool band (marching, concert, and jazz) about 5 months ago. Ive practiced my alto a few times since then, but not extensively since my sax was being borrowed by someone else during this time.

When I recently picked up my sax, I found myself having intense pitch control issues - especially on my octave d (in the staff). It's always wildly sharp no matter how I adjust my embouchure. It had been a tendency of mine before switching, but now it's worse. Any tips/advice? (Especially as I will be playing bari sax mainly, and want to retain my alto chops for next year when I switch back) Thanks!

I play tenor for band and alto for lessons, literature, and quartet. I find bigger saxes a lot easier, especially when it comes to finding a good reed. But then again, the tenor I use is a YTS 62, whereas the alto is a YTS 23 in tragic disrepair.
What I do is play tenor at school and leave the alto home to practice, and bring it in for quartet stuff.
I usually end up playing both tenor and alto every day.

Knowing the make and model of alto sax will help. Here is what I suggest.
  • Set the embouchure, air, and oral cavity to play A concert on the mouthpiece alone with a big full sound
  • Using that same embouchure, check the pitch of the mouthpiece + neck. It should be Ab concert
  • Tune the saxophone to its low F# by moving the mouthpiece in or out, then repeat step 2
  • Check the pitch of F#2 both with and without using the octave key
  • These octaves should both be in tune using the same embouchure pressure
  • Next finger low B natural and "overblow" to the second overtone which is F#2 that should match as well