All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Strange little c-mel with a few oddities

HeythereMC

Hello!

I am new to the world of vintage saxophones, and this forum, as of 4 days ago and have a few questions about a quirky Buescher C-Melody horn I bought, of all places, on craigslist.

The weirdness starts with a note saying, "unusual c-melody sax"
- Has white pads that are in tact, corks are in great shape too, felts need some lovin', but work great.
- It played out of the box (with reluctancy, + key oil on joints solved a lot of the problem)
- Has a serial number that puts it at 1923. Serial: 129062
- but...has gold plating with lacquer.
- Does NOT have the "c" stamped above or below the thumb hook
- Repairs needed: two springs, one pad on the back, octave pad.
- Plays incredibly in tune, (will post a youtube soon) with both the original mouth piece and with my tenor yamaha 4C mouth piece....the tenor mpc makes the most...creamy, wholesome, amazing jazz sounds.
- Came with a marching lyre in the case and original (I assume) leather neck strap.
- The case inside is also in amazing condition- all I found were a few small stones and dust.

If anyone could shed some light on the situation, that would be great! I know C-Mels aren't that rare or special, but I'm curious about this one, because someone clearly took great care of it and it doesn't look like the ones on e-bay or saxpics.com. Even the patina looks different- it's very, very orangey-red.

Also, the sax itself smells SO strongly, (not so much the case)...like an old man drinking aged oak barrel scotch in a church basement!

Thanks so much!

Mollie The Newbie.

PS: I have a photo album online of the horn with close up (I'm a photo nerd too) photos of the items outlined here, but can't link to the album for some reason. Let me know if you want to see photographs, I would be more than happy to e-mail.

Andrew Sanders

Northern Commissioner for Caslm