support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Spittle and reed strength

MonkeyBaby

When I practice my tone is pretty decent (considering my newbie status), but after about ten minutes it goes all to hell and some notes , G especially, start honking something awful. I seem to generate a lot of spit. So much so that it oozes out some where and makes the keys slippery. Could my tone problem be related to the reed getting saturated? And if so, would I benefit from moving up to, say, a number 3 reed. I'm using Vandoren #2 reds at the moment.

Even a Vandoren 2 is usually too hard for an absolute beginner. Congrats on developing chops of steel so quickly.

My first thought is embouchure fatigue. The prescription is long tones. Make the most beautiful tone you can using long notes up and down the horn. But I wouldn’t have an absolute beginner playing a high G until they have a year or so under their belt. So stick with the middle register until your tone is consistently good for a long period of time. Also get a teacher.

Good luck

Thanks. Yeah I have a teacher. I started at the end of January. Reading music is proving very hard. I forget which note is which no matter how hard I practice. My age, I think, might have something to do with it (61 and never tried to learn a musical instrument before)...so the Eubank book is kicking my ass! I do think I've been short-changing the long tones and will pay more attention to that. It's just the sheer volume of spittle! It drips out and forms a little puddle! I guess I literally just have to suck it up!

It's not all down to reed strength, tip opening may have a bearing on this.

What sax are you playing & what mouthpiece?

When I was playing a JS 6M mouthpiece I had similar issues, but now using a smaller C*, I don't.

I'm not biting as much which I think was part of the problem.