All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

South Wales Sax group anyone?

Kath

Hi
I'm new to the sax (1 month in only!!) but would love to get together occasionally with other players/learners/rock Gods! Wouldn't it be great to just meet up evey now and then to share experiences, pick each others brains etc. If any of you out there could do a Swansea night every now and then, it'd be soooooooo helpful to newbies like me x

Tenor Viol

Full of frets in North Shropshire
Subscriber
You have compatriots here, who I am sure will be along such as Tom.

Have a look here for groups in your area.

trimmy

One day i will...
If you visit up north regularly then we could try to incorporate a meeting of the MaSLM :thumb:

QWales

Hi Kath, firstly, welcome to the site. There are a couple of small groups in Cardiff that play every Monday & Tuesday and consist of mostly Sax players. The problem you have (besides the distance) is that everyone has been playing at least 2 years. You have a foot up by being able to read music and having previously played another instrument and if you are really going at it with daily practice, I see no reason why you wouldn't be able to join in within a couple of months. One of the guys who plays a violin on our Tuesday night class comes down from somewhere near the end of the M4, so maybe you could catch a lift in with him.

Philly123