All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Beginner Sore throat!

Titus

Hi everyone, I'm quite new to this saxophone playing, and having found a good teacher, i am happily on my 6th lesson and progressing well, more than that i am actually really enjoying the process.
I had to visit my doc today with a badly inflamed throat, he thinks it is more to do with some pills i am on after a recent operation, but i am not so sure, anyway i have more medication to deal with it.
As an experiment I am thinking of buying a new mouthpiece which is easier to blow, with softer reeds and see if it helps at all.
I currently use a Yamaha 4C with number 2 reeds, can anyone suggest anything to try which would be any easier? All help appreciated.

Tenor Viol

Full of frets in North Shropshire
Subscriber
Hi

My main experience is as a singer (I'm a novice sax player) but there is an aspect of singing relevant to sax playing: relaxing the throat.

The reason that many "pop" singers (or people who emulate them) have problems is that they're not singing, they're indulging in what I cal 'tuned shouting' with a tight throat. This leads to both rapid tiring and to a sore throat. If you tire rapidly when singing it's either because you have a tight throat or you are trying to sing at too high a pitch for your voice.

The solution is to relax the throat - if you do this, with practice you can sing (and presumably play) for hours without harm.

To demonstrate, try yawning: this will do two things: it will lower your jaw and it will lift the soft palate at the back of the mouth. When you yawn there should be no sensation of tightness in the larynx/throat. It is the lifting of the soft palate that's most relevant to a sax player.

If you tighten or close the throat, this will be both tiring and will lead to soreness.

A singing exercise might help:

• breath in through your mouth whilst raising your outstretched arms in front of you to shoudler level