support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Side Key Risers

2toneblew

C'mon Genie, third wish - to sound warm and fuzzy
Locality
Terrace , BC, Canada
I'm a beginner with big hands. I have installed a set of Oleg risers. The risers put the E key at a comfortable height, but the C and Bb are too high. Ideally I like the dished side key structure on the vintage 10M or Aristocrats much better than the flat keys on my YTS62. I'm wondering if there are alternative risers that provide a dished form? Or could the Olegs be cut down and silver soldered to the desired height? Based on price the Oleg keys must be 24k gold, but before I start cutting , I probably should get some advice. Unfortunately I'm unaware of any local techs that do silver solder so would have to send out or wait til travel takes me to one.

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Café Supporter
Locality
Just north of Munich
You don't want silver solder here, good chance of the key falling apart. And you'll ruin the lacquer. But which Bb and C are we talking about? RH? These can be bent a little, but you'll need to fit bigger corks under them.

For any key good risers can be made from Sugru, which is easy to remove, but stays put until then. Or cork, which you can glue on which shellac or contact adhesive. A bit of a clean up job afterwards if you need to remove them, though. Both materials can be made to the exact height you need. Cork cuts cleanly with a sharp knife or safety razor blade. And can be sanded for a smooth finish. But don't sand the key at the same time....

2toneblew

Locality
Terrace , BC, Canada
These are the right hand side keys. I would remove them before cutting or soldering them, if that were my chosen remedy and if the metal used by Oleg can be soldered. I do like the feel of the metal risers. Have tried the rubber Runyon risers but found they didn't work very well for me and did not provide that dished assembly I find comfortable.