Tinncupp

Instruments and Genres
Tenor Sax.
Level
  1. Intermediate
Can you travel to lessons
Locally only (within 5 miles)
Hey Everyone,

As the title says, I'm looking for an instructor to help me get back into playing sax. Here's some short background: I started playing Alto when I was in the 4th grade and played consistently through high school, taking lessons all the way through as well. I was considered a very advanced player at the time. It's been about 25 years and I just purchased a Yamaha YTS-63III tenor and will focus on tenor (vs. alto). My ability to read music is strong, obviously my embouchure is not great given the time, and overall, I've been able to download some solo's and play some of them ok. I'd like to try to get back to where I was (or beyond) and am looking for an instructor to help and/or recommendations on some method books. I'm located in Southern NJ. Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions.

JayeNM

Formerly JayePDX
Welcome. Most membership here is European, FWIW, so I dunno if anyone can come up with specific suggestions for you.

I will start with some general ones:

~ Post an ad on Craigslist.

~ If your municipality is 'open' (i.e. places with community bulletin boards are in biz again.....coffee houses, etc...) post something on one of those

~ If music shops within a reasonable vicinity of you are open, inquire there....

~ If there are any colleges in your vicinity which have music departments (and someone is manning the phones), try giving them a call as well.

~ If you know any other musicians in town, or have friends who do ~ ask them if they know of any sax teachers

This would be relatively easy if things were 'normal'...but given the global health situation, of course, it isn't the case currently.

Skype or online lessons are also an option if things are closed down around you.