All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Second time love affair.

StanGhetz

Hello Peeps

Another newbie here..

Bought my first sax 22 years ago, cos ‘I wanted to play so badly, I could taste it’. Tried really hard but couldn't play for didley. Gave up, dispirited after 6 or so ….poor technique ~ embouchure, breathing, musical skills….and absolutely no natural musical skills (other than mixing records). Figured it was much less soul destroying to listen to the pro’s make music. And neighbourhood friendly too! My musical journey includes most things soft from Marion Meadows, George Howard, Najee, David Sanborn, Spike Robinson, Grover Washington etc through to the real ol’timers like Coleman Hawkins and Ike Quebec. Then my kids started music lessons last term…Cello and Flute. It’s given me a real buzz to have another go.

I have a Yamaha YAS 32 Alto sax which is my second instrument. Bought it back around 95, and still have an box of Vandoren 3’s and Frederick Hemke 3 reeds. The sax appears to have survived numerous house moves reasonably well, even though the G# doesn’t quite feel right.

Trying to get up and running again; the first major difference I notice is the extent of resources on-line to help you get into the groove of things…….even though I suspect that having a tutor is still the best way forward. Hopefully, Santa’ll be good to me. Anyway hoping to get to know the community better and hope that I’ll find some answers and inspiration within. Meanwhile, season greetings to everyone.

regards

SG

VirusKiller

Hi Stan and welcome to the forum. IMO, strength 3 reeds will be much too strong for a beginner - perhaps this is why you had problems last time? Assuming you have the Yamaha 4C mouthpiece that comes with a YAS 32, maybe you should try strength 1½ or 2 reeds?

P.S. "Stan" - surely you need to be playing tenor? ;}

Sweet Dreamer

Welcome Stan,