All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians

Saxophones Saxello choices

raddy

My son has seen a saxello - he did want a soprano - butnow he wants a saxello.

So, the ineviteble - which one.?

I have been scouring the web and think I have narrowed it down to either a Rampone & cazzani R1 or a Mauriat PMSS-601.

Now, I wonder if thereis any advice regarding these 2 and/or
am I barking uo the wrong tree and should be looking elsewhere - thay are both quite (very!) pricey and I just, like everyone I suppose, want to get the best for the money

So, all, or any, advice gratefully welcomed

Last edited:

Nick Wyver

noisy
Café Supporter
Locality
Minster On Sea
Why does he want a saxello? They're just the same as a normal sop, only bent a bit. Are they cool now, or something?

raddy

Why does he want a saxello? They're just the same as a normal sop, only bent a bit. Are they cool now, or something?
Hi Nick

I'm not a musician, but I think he muttered something about sound projection and the "look" - so maybe to my son they are cool. Personally I can just about tell one end of the instrument from another , oh and I can spot a duff note, so in that respect the whole discussion of "this-or -that" instrument is a complete mystery

Nick Wyver

noisy
Café Supporter
Locality
Minster On Sea
If it's the look then you're stuffed. I don't think there are any cheap ones (my information may be out of date). If it's projection (whatever that is) then you could try suggesting a curved sop. There are plenty of those about.

raddy

Yeah! I think I am stuffed. Maybe if I ignore him the idea will go away :)

Anyhow, assuming it doesn't - I am thinking the R&C might have more residual value than the Mauriat - yet the cost is significantly greater.

That said, and assuming I have to proceed, I really need some pointers so I don't make an expensive mistake even more so, whilst getting something that's going to the best job.