All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Sam Butera

Kingsleyhk

Just downloaded a whole slew of his stuff without Louis Prima - what a great player. Great attack and tone.

Jules

Formerly known as "nachoman"
My main man for many years... not only a great attack and tone but a very lyrical player... Its almost impossible to play on a Louis Prima song without playing the solo the way Sam did..... they're so memorable....

spike

Old Indian
Just downloaded a whole slew of his stuff without Louis Prima - what a great player. Great attack and tone.
"Wild, Cool & Swinging - The Artist Collection - Sam Butera and the Witnesses" is a good one.

gruss - spike

John Laughter

I remember when I started playing sax in 56 there were a lot of movies about the rock & roll groups that featured the Top 40 bands and singers. I went to a double feature and saw Sam Butera and Prima in the second movie. I had never seen or heard of the Prima's band or Sam Butera. I was very familiar with Lee Allen, Herb Hardesty and Grady Gaines although I did not know the names at that time.

When Butera started playing his solos along with his stage action I was caught up in the energy! I had never seen anything like it. Still listen to his music to this day.

Kingsleyhk

You were about ten years ahead of me in starting to listen to sax players - I was about 55 years behind you in finding Sam Butera!

Funny how these things go in cycles - my youngest son (now 23) has been a Tom Lehrer fan since he was about 12 - something like the same age I got into him - and he saw Bo Diddley a couple of years ago in Australia (Byron Bay Blues Festival) and I saw Bo when I was about 14 in Cheltenham, Glos. in a package show with the Everley Brothers and Duane Eddy - which is what turned me on to Jim Horn.

trimmy

One day i will...