Repair

Band4

A friend of mine sent a soprano sax to a place called repairmyinstrument.com
the service was excellent and the repair was better than any I have seen

pknight11

Interesting concept for those without a tech they like nearby. A quick check shows that this is in the same location as Flint Hills Music, which seems to be a typical music store with student rentals, lessons, etc., as well as repairs. Their (Flint Hills Music) site says they have been around since 1996. There is a state university in Emporia (creatively named Emporia State University), and it would be interesting to see if any of the music faculty there use these repair services.

JayeNM

Formerly JayePDX
This isn't that new of an idea, many techs with an internet presence actually do work on shipped horns from owners, along with their walk-in clientele.
I have been doing this for a few years, although granted it makes up perhaps 5% of my work.
Techs seem to be a dying breed, and as you say,,,, in many places here in US, there is not one available within a 2-hour drive....

saxyjt

Techs seem to be a dying breed, and as you say,,,, in many places here in US, there is not one available within a 2-hour drive....
It's a big country! :eek:

In many places here in Europe, if you drive 2 hours, you're in another country... And they speak a different language.

That doesn't mean we have more saxophone techs than you do... :confused2:

DavidUK

My newly polished Grassi was sent back to me from the polishers in its (horrid!) Berkeley case.

It arrived with 17 new dents in the body!

Fortunately Matt at Connolly-MIR (now Sheward-MIR) removed all invisibly for £30.

As the OP is a newbie here, I'd want to see more reviews of repairmyinstrument.com before entrusting my sax to them.

JayeNM

Formerly JayePDX
What percentage of the repair work is fixing what got broken in transit?