support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Relearning the Basics

Razzmatazz

Hello!
I started playing saxophone in middle school, about 3 years ago. I am at the top of my class, and can play comparatively well. But as my hearing has gotten better, I realized that my tone, intonation, etc. sure could use a LOT of improvement. I am dedicating my summer to saxophone practice, for I am very passionate about saxophone and want to sound good, but also because I want to make the top band as a sophomore. I have begun practicing a lot of mouthpiece exercises, overtones, etc. and have started including Sigurd Rascher's book, "Top Tones" in my practices. My question is, how should I structure my practice routine? I do not want to spend 3 months practicing the wrong way. What are some exercises, books, or recordings which you would suggest? Thanks!

Hi and welcome. Set yourself goals. Structure the practice around that, as you achieve something restructure to maintain what you've achieved and aim for something new. Tone/sound can be a never ending quest. Above all, don't lose the music in your goal for technical excellence.

So pick a challenging piece of music and work on improving tone and intonation around it? I absolutely love Tableaux de Provence by Paul Maurice and Fantasia by Claude T. Smith. Would those be good choices?

Thanks for the quick reply!

Yes that is great literature, but if you are focusing on tone quality choosing pieces that are more lyrical and less technically demanding may be more beneficial. One of the best things that you can do at this stage is to listen to great classical players you admire to get a "concept" of how you want to sound. A recording that I would recommend is Eugene Rousseau Meditation from Thais.

two things I will add.

Spend 30 minutes a day on long tones/overtones