Tutorials

Reeds Reeds

Hi everyone, just a quick question. I have been playing on vandoren number two reeds for 3 months now and was wonder if i should move onto a stronger reed. If so what make/number? Thanks everyone.

TomMapfumo

Hi Rory!

Its a common assumption that newbies should move on to harder reeds at some point, and most of us would question this - Why?

Many sax players use 2 strength reeds - it all depends on several factors.

1. Are you unhappy with the sound you produce or want to change it in some way?

2. What size mouthpiece do you use? what is the tip opening, and what type of sound do you want to produce?
Commonly classical sax players use mouthpieces with smaller tip openings and harder reeds; jazz players commonly use wider tip openings and softer reeds.

3. The Vandoren reeds you use sound like the "Blue" box commonly used by classical players, and are harder than many reeds with similar numbers.

4. Most reeds have their advocates - partly it depends on what music you play, and which reeds might more suit/facilitate that sound.

I certainly would not advise other than you think about why you might want to change, and do some research before buying any reeds. Most of us have probably tried several reeds and tend to choose certain ones in preference to others. Other people are not that curious or bothered or may not notice much different in sound, but at the very least they choose a reed that is playable, and is neither too hard or too soft - which may be the important thing ultimately.

So, not possible to give a simple answer to your question without some more detail. Some reeds are brighter, some darker, some smoother, some more percussive, all of which might affect/facilitate the sound that you want to make. For a rich and complex sound I usually play Alexander Superial DC 2.5 or Francois Louis Excellence 2.5 reeds, in slight preference to Rico Jazz Selects 2M & 2H reeds.