Tutorials

Reeds Reed for tenor Otto Link

Lloyd

I have just ordered an ebonite Otto Link Tone Edge 6* on approval to replace my Yamaha 5C as I am looking for a fatter sound. I was wondering what reed might complement this. Subjective I know, but I am interested to hear the thoughts from anyone who has one of these mouthpieces.

Moz

I have just ordered an ebonite Otto Link Tone Edge 6* on approval to replace my Yamaha 5C as I am looking for a fatter sound. I was wondering what reed might complement this. Subjective I know, but I am interested to hear the thoughts from anyone who has one of these mouthpieces.
I have an Otto Link Super Tonemaster 7 metal and use Rico Jazz Select strength 3M. I play a 3S(oft) when playing quietly(ish) but find they jam shut or squeak when blasting out, hence the slightly harder one. I did try a 4M for a while but ended up cutting my tongue!

Of course none of this is relevant to the question as I've just realised we are not talking about the same mouthpiece; tone edge/tone master, you'd think they could have thought of a completely different name.:D

Moz

Last edited by a moderator:

TonyMoroney

I found that Rico Jazz Select 2M were awesome on my Otto Link 5* Ebonite, still use them even though I've changed to an Otto Link Metal STM

T>

OP
Lloyd

Lloyd

Interesting, I use the Rico Jazz Select 2Ms on my alto. I might try the tenor equivalent. Thanks for your help.

AlanU

I'd stick with the reeds you are used to.
Change one thing at a time.

Your current reeds will help you evaluate the different mouthpiece. Once you're used to that, then think about different reeds.

Phil

I dont know what you came up with but I find Rico Jazz to be harsh. Links really love soft tipped reeds. I prefer Javas, if you like a little more brightness but in that same realm try ZZ's.

OP
Lloyd

Lloyd