Studies Recommeded Beginners Music Books

Owen

Hi,
I've been learning for 3 months and really enjoying it. I currently use "Standard of Excellence" Book 1 which I find logical and helpful in terms of gradually increasing my knowledge/experience. However I'm looking for music to complement this book at the right level which include more popular / familiar music. i.e. Jazz, Blues, soul. Suggestions are very much appreciated.
Owen

Moz

Hi,
I've been learning for 3 months and really enjoying it. I currently use "Standard of Excellence" Book 1 which I find logical and helpful in terms of gradually increasing my knowledge/experience. However I'm looking for music to complement this book at the right level which include more popular / familiar music. i.e. Jazz, Blues, soul. Suggestions are very much appreciated.
Owen
A couple of books I remember using when I was a starter:

Guest Spot Classic Blues which is a playalong book with CD. Some might say this book is a little strong for a very new player but some of the songs in there are ones you will know and are played a little slower than might normally be heard.

From the same people as the above but this time Guest Spot Film Themes. Easier than the above but very satisfying. I remember my first public playing (OK, to my wife and a couple of friends) was of Schindlers List, the version in this book is very, very slow but that's what you want when you start and it's still a good arrangement.

Some people like the Hal Leonard playalongs but many of them have a melody guide played on a xylophone or some such horrendous instrument which I found most off-putting.

If you have a teacher then Jazzy Duets is a good book (no CD here and no familiar tunes); I still get that out occasionally and record the two parts separately on my Fostex recorder just for the hell of it.