support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Keyboards Reading music is so easy...

I have been playing sax for 9 years and piano for 18 months.
Give me any piece of sax music and I wouldn't bat an eye-lid. Maybe not perfect first time, but it wouldn't take me much time to get it "reasonable".

Piano is (for me) a completely different ball-game.

Firstly, I would definitely recommend having lessons. I started by teaching myself, with a good adult tutor book.
After about 3 months, I realised I needed help!

My piano teacher has been working through very methodically - he knows how able I am at playing sax, I have played sax with his male-voice choir in a concert.

By working through methodically, I have learned - to recognise the position of each note on the piano (at first I had to keep referring back to C and working out where the next note was); to recognise the position of each note on the Bass clef (at first, everything was counted up or down from the F line, as that was all I knew).
In the early days, piano lessons are based on 5 fingers, 5 notes - you never move your hands; then as lessons progress, you might move your hands once and stay there (from C position, to F position, say)
Then the lessons introduced stretching - so instead of 5 fingers, 5 notes, you stretch to 6 notes. etc.

With this methodical approach, you improve and learn. It all takes time. However, after 18 months, I might pass grade 1 piano, but I already had passed my grade 4 sax at 18 months!