SYOS

Saxophones Rare vintage alto "Hors Concours Paris, 1878 - 1889- 1900, Jerome Thibouville Lamy, 10 Charter House Street, London. Made in Paris.Secial Class

Calsax57

Has anyone got any knowledge about this 1900 alto sax? It was left to me by one of my clients. I just wondered what it was possibly worth.

nigeld

I don't need another mouthpiece; but . . .
Subscriber
My guess is that it is more likely to be from the 1920's, rather than 1900.
I think the dates on the bell are about competitions, not date of manufacture.

I'm not an expert, but I doubt if it is worth much - if it needs repairing or needs new pads, then the cost of the repair may be more than the sale value. But it may sound good.

One vital piece of information is whether it is "Low pitch" or "high pitch".
Is there any writing on the back of the instrument? In particular "LP" or "HP".
And is there a serial number?

Also, a picture of the top half of the back would be useful to see if it has single or double octave key mechanism.
(I.e. is there one button or two that gets pushed by the left thumb.)

Pete Effamy

Someone on here will have a really good idea of worth - though I suspect it will be along the lines of "what somebody wants to pay for it" as virtually no-one is going to want it to play on. There is the danger, firstly, that it might be "high pitch" and not "low pitch" - the VHS and Beta conundrum of the time. Low pitch prevailed.

It will also be missing a key or two (at least) compared to modern horns. Some missing keys aren't that crucial and many players are happy to play without later additions, but if it really is a pre-1900 design rather than even mid-1920's, there might be other differences that make it a museum piece rather than a useable instrument. Unfortunately, these reasons probably render it to be of relatively little worth.

Pete Effamy