support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Quieter when octave key depressed.

rotate

Complete beginner. When the octave key is pressed the alto saxophone gets a lot quieter.

Is this meant to happen? If so, do you compensate by blowing harder or by, say, pushing the mouthpiece further into the mouth; or both? Or what? Hope this makes sense. Thanks any help.

I've never noticed a change in volume, pitch or other stuff particularly. I think you probably need to anticipate the change a little and adjust your embouchure so that the sound is as consistent as possible, but there may be something about your octave keys that need adjusting (I say keys as there is one in addition to the one which we normally think of as the octave key - just a bit further up the sax; have a look when you press the keys at G and above!) as there may be a slight problem - such as a blocked or ill fitting key.

Kind regards
Tom:cool:

If the upper register is quiet, it may be the way other keys are set up. Suggest you get it checked by your teacher, or a technician.
Yes, I'd better get a teacher. Not getting far on my own.

"(I say keys as there is one in addition to the one which we normally think of as the octave key - just a bit further up the sax; have a look when you press the keys at G and above!)" - TomMapfumo, you appear to use the oposite up/down sign convention to me.:) The notes of the right hand are particularly badly quiet. Instrument feels blocked.

If play the crook without the sax on it, no note with octave key and feels blocked up.

Any road I'll see a teacher.

Hi there!

If you want to find a teacher try www.musicteachers.co.uk which should have details of teachers in your neck of the woods. It is also best that you find someone whose main instrument is the sax, not just a load of other instruments as well. Finding a good teacher is a great feeling and can be such an encouragement.......:w00t:;}

Kind regards